…For One Moment


Do you ever wonder what it’s like to be transgender or transsexual? Do you wonder what it would be like to experience incongruence between your identity and your anatomy? Do you wonder how much different you would be?
[TRIGGER WARNING.  Note: This will be explained at the end of the post.]

If you are a cisgender woman, reading the following excerpt of a post from Devyn’s blog Trans*Positive may give you an idea:

I have always valued my individuality. I have always worked to make a place for myself as myself. Of course, I did not always succeed. I was fighting a losing battle with my gender identity for years; but still attempted to be authentic. I conformed, as we all do at least sometimes, in order to fit in and to take advantage of the privileges that were afforded to me.

Over the years, I became increasingly uncomfortable with myself, with my body. I spent nights crying over the state of my body, followed by days of crippling gender dysphoria; sometimes it was all I could do to get out of bed. My body developed to be more specifically gendered: my skin became rougher; I began to grow hair all over my body; my muscles began to grow and become harder, stronger, and more defined. I hated the way this made me feel. I hated the way I fit inside my body. I felt clumsy; I felt encumbered.

I was angry. I became angry easily, and this made me even more angry. My temper was out of control at times. Inside, I felt a multitude of emotions rampaging through my thoughts. Externally, I reacted with anger, frustration, and violence. I wanted to cry, and instead I became physically violent. I wanted to talk about my feelings and share my passions. Instead I became tongue tied and frustrated.

In many ways, I still feel this way. Some days, I still struggle with negative body image issues and gender dysphoria; though never as severely now as before. Some days, I am angry.

Now, back to reality:  Transgender and transsexual people live with some degree of this every moment of their entire lives, even AFTER transition.

If  imagining yourself transgender/transsexual for a minute or so made you feel uncomfortable, THAT’S GOOD–it means you’re learning.  Please pass this knowledge on to others to help in the battle against transphobia and the stigma associated with being trans*.

Note:  A “Trigger Warning” is a warning to trans* people (especially those in transition)  that the material that follows may “trigger” or evoke  feelings of hopelessness, helplessness, guilt and/or anxiety related to their own gender dysphoria, thus giving them the option as to whether to continue reading or not.

Posted on July 3, 2012, in transgender, transphobia and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on …For One Moment.

Comments are closed.

