Somebody to Love


The following post is reblogged from Suzan‘s post “Somebody to Love” from her blog Women Born Transsexual.

Somebody to Love

07/03/2012 — Suzan

I was thirteen when my parents first busted me for dressing up.

I learned a lot of new mean sounding words that night, words that were a lot meaner even than sissy.

I learned that it was expected that I would grow up queer and that expectation was reason enough for my parents to start withholding love and affection.

I was such an obvious transkid every  move I made, every thing I liked was cause for suspicion.

I got busted a lot over the next few years.

In 1962, I was 15. They found my clippings of April Ashley’s tabloid biography. They confronted me with it and I came out as transsexual for the first time.

My parents told me at that point:

“If you decide to be like that when you grow up, no one will ever love you, not a man, not a woman, not even queer men or women… No one.”

I was already experiencing the intense loneliness of being a small town transkid.

But I grew up cute and it was the era of free love and if there was one thing I found in great plenitude it was people to have sex with if not give me love.  CONTINUE…

Posted on July 4, 2012, in Radfem, transgender, transphobia and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Somebody to Love.

Comments are closed.

