Watch Your Language… PLEASE

 

Posted on July 19, 2012, in transgender, transphobia and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. The heartache of having people call me “Sir,” “dude,” or “he” is a burden that often crushes me. Going through this transition is not just difficult, it is difficult EVERY DAY! The pain of being called by the wrong pronoun is one that digs deep, all the way to my sense of identity… it’s crushing and demoralizing. This has happened to me a lot in the past couple weeks, and it becomes more and more difficult to pull myself out of it every time. Often, being addressed by the wrong pronoun drags me right back to the crippling self doubt that leaves me feeling agonizingly incomplete as a person. Each time it happens I have to work harder to find myself again, each time it takes a chunk out of my faith in myself and my identity. In my life now, there is no greater pain.

    Like

